How Far Can I Go?
Every Electric Bike we sell can go 12-30 miles on a charge. Some of our bikes can go further because they feature higher-capacity batteries or come with two batteries.
Why such a big range?
Considering that cars are most commonly driver with a single passenger, it is not uncommon for 95% of the force required to move a car to be expended on moving the car itself. Car efficiency will vary by driving style and terrain, but because the main required force stays constant, the range you might expect to travel on one tank of gas stays fairly consistent.
Electric bicycles are far more efficient that cars, so rider input (pedaling), terrain and cargo amount will have a sizable impact on the range you can expect from one charge of your battery. That being said, to determine the range you can expect from an electric bicycle, calculate the watt-hours of your battery by multiplying your battery's voltage by its rated amp-hours, then divide by this chart to determine the range of your system.
Using your motor very little - 10-13 watt-hours per mile
Typical usage ~ 20 mph, motor consistently on 12-19 watt-hours per mile
Burning Rubber - 20 mph+, no pedaling and/or pulling a heavy load 20-32 watt-hours per mile
So, lets try a calculation:
Say you were looking at a Pathfinder ST, to determine your range, we first calculate your watt hours: The Pathfinder ST comes with a 37v 14ah battery. 37 volts X 14 amp-hours = 518 watt-hours.
The short end of your range will be your most power-hungry energy consumption: 32 watt-hours. The long end of your range will be your most miserly enegry usage: 10 watt-hours per mile.
So, divide 518 by 32 and you get 16.2 miles for the low end and 518 divided by 10 is 51.8 miles on the high end. The range for the Pathfinder ST is 16.2 - 51.8 miles.
Are eBikes Legal?
eBikes for sale are governed by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). An Overview of the CPSC's requirements are:
- Cannot propel a 170lb rider more than 20 mph on level ground without pedaling
- Must have operable pedals
- May not exceed 750 watts
- Must meet other CPSC requirements for bicycles
How eBikes are ridiven are governed by state law. A brief overview of Oregon eBike Law
- eBike riders must wear an approved bicycle helmet
- Not legal to use the motor on a sidewalk
- Electric bicycle riders must be eligible for a driver's license (16 years of age, license not suspended or revoked)
The Oregon Dept of Transportation has a handy little sheet that clearly outlines the legal framework of electric bicycles.
Can You Make My Bike Go Wickedly Fast?
Yes, We Can.However...
We will not!
Please do not ask us to overvolt or otherwise modify your eBike to exceed 20 MPH. First off, I have yet to have a customer who has (on their own) overvolted their bike to go above 25mph avoid a hospital visit within 6 months. That's right, every customer I know who has broken the speed requirement for their bike has injured themselves. Secondly, if we did the modification and you injured yourself you might sue us and it simply is not worth losing our shop for a few dollars.
How Long Does it Take to Charge my eBike?
Depends on the eBike's battery capacity (rated in Amp Hours, Ah) and charger output (rated in Amps)
A 10Ah battery with a charger that has an output of 1A will take 10 hours for a full charge.
That being said, most of the bike we sell can be charged in less than five hours.
Can I Recharge My Electric Bicycling by Pedaling?
While some electric bikes offer this capability, we have not chosen to carry bikes with regeneration for the following reasons:
- Bikes with regen are not able to freewheel when pedaling without battery assistance
- Bicycles are much more efficient than cars so they do not have 1000 lbs. or more of mass & associated momentum that can be converted back to electricity
- Historically, the process of regenerating electricity has created a slight vibration that has loosened spokes and vastly increased maintenance costs. (At $.005 of regenerated energy per battery charge it will take some time to pay off a $35 wheel retensioning)
Do I have to Pedal?
No, there are many other modes of transportation available.
For electric bikes, Pedal-activated bikes require pedaling to engage the motor, whereas Throttle-activated bikes do not.
Is Financing Available?
Yes, we partner with Bicycleloan.com (Unitas Credit Union) to offer financing for your electric bicycle at a spectacularly low rate of interest.
How do I Charge my eBike?
Each bicycle comes with a charger that uses a standard household plug. The average cost of charging an eBike Battery in OR is about 5 cents.
Can I Travel with my eBike?
Yes! We are hoping that is why you bought it! However, if your eBike has a Lithium-Ion based battery, it is best not to fly as Li-Ion Batteries are considered hazardous materials and can land you a $50,000 fine if you try to bring it on an airplane.